And… NYFW Begins!

I know, I know, there really is no *official* beginning of NY Fashion Week, but I like to think that today is the day. Designers, especially lesser known ones, have already begun to present so it’s more like NY Fashion Fortnight, but that doesn’t have quite the ring, does it?

Let me make a few brief predictions about what we’ll be seeing for Spring 2015:

  • Luxurious simplicity.
  • Prints: fun prints, wild prints, and subdued prints.
  • Pastels (again) with a spot of fuchsia or purple. For some reason I cannot visualize neons for the next spring season.
  • Flat(ish) shoes.
  • The revival of the stylish backpack.
  • A slightly grunge vibe. Come on, with Hedi Slimane at Saint Laurent, this is basically a 100% certainty.

There you go, that’s my vision for next spring / summer. Time, and Vogue, will tell if I’m correct.


Now I just want to write a few sentences about Band of Outsiders’ Spring 2015 collection because I am completely obsessed with it.

It opened with this look:

3

 

As soon as I saw this I already got excited for Spring. Perfect skirt? Check. Awesome shoes? Check. Wear-everywhere shirt? Check. The cool hat, though slightly unwearable, is the icing on top.

The collection continued with its unique grungy / laid-back / deconstructed vibe:

2

 

Reminds me just a tiny bit of Marc Jacobs Spring 2014. The shoes here are to die for as well.

1

 

This look is almost preppy, but I love how laid-back it is while still looking so put-together.

My verdict: Band of Outsiders nailed it, especially with the shoes. They have captured that attitude most people only dream of possessing and I’m sure this will make them a huge hit next spring.

xoxo,

Chiara

 

 

One thought on “And… NYFW Begins!

  1. Spring 2015 will be very interesting when it actually rolls around! I’m excited. Some of the most unique trends in a while seem to be emerging. As much as I love and respect European fashion, I like that it seems that there’s less European influence going on than there has been lately.

    http://life15juicy.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

