Making the Ordinary Extraordinary

For the last three weeks I’ve been obsessing over ombre manicures. They’re so fun!

These are the shades of red, blue, and green I’ve been loving:

Chanel Pirate, Essie (I forgot the name), Essie Lollipop, Essie Saturday Disco Fever, Essie Resort Fling
Chanel Pirate, Essie (I forgot the name), Essie Lollipop, Essie Saturday Disco Fever, Essie Resort Fling
J.Crew Face Stockholm, Essie Coat Azure, Essie (I forgot the name), Essie Truth or Flare, Essie Find me an Oasis
J.Crew Face Stockholm, Essie Coat Azure, Essie (I forgot the name), Essie Truth or Flare, Essie Find me an Oasis
Essie Naughty Nautical, Essie Mojito Madness, Essie First Timer, Essie Truth or Flare, Essie Find  me an Oasis
Essie Naughty Nautical, Essie Mojito Madness, Essie First Timer, Essie Truth or Flare, Essie Find me an Oasis

I like to start with the darkest shade at my thumb and end with the lightest shade at my pinky. Finding new color combinations is entertaining and the result is such an interesting departure from standard manicures. Right now I can’t imagine painting my nails just one color again!

Before I end this quick post, I’d like to mention something else I’ve discovered. Lemons! They’re so delicious, and I don’t only mean their juice. Last night while I was making myself an extreme lemonade, i.e. squeezing an entire lemon and pouring the entire juice into water without sugar, I began wondering if simply eating a lemon would taste better than lemonade. So I tried it and it was a revelation. And trust me, it is beyond amazing… especially if you love acidity. It’s crisp, cool, and instantly refreshing – perfect for those sweltering summer days. And in addition to carrying loads of vitamins it wakes you up just like coffee! No joke. I’m officially obsessed. So if you’re feeling particularly brave or bored one fateful day, try it out – I promise you won’t regret it.

I hope you don’t think I’m (too) weird.

xoxo,

Chiara

p.s. Tell me what you guys think! What do you think about ombre nails and lemons? Or just drop by a hello, it always makes me happy 🙂

 

11 thoughts on “Making the Ordinary Extraordinary

  1. Good post, I love your nail varnish rainbows! I’m digging ombre nails, they’re my go-to nail look this season.
    Here’s some inspiration:

  2. Oooo the ombre idea sounds lovely! Strangely, I’m super excited about this lemon business. I realized that I needed something to keep me alive (meaning not falling asleep in midday) and I did not want to resort to coffee. I will try this lemon idea. Also, a pic of your nails ombrefied (no it’s not a word) would be lovely!

Leave a Reply

