I’ll Have a Diet Coke with that Moschino

Jeremy Scott has outdone himself.

The theme of Moschino’s Fall 2014 collection is blatantly obvious –  it is centered around the most American of all American brands (i.e. McDonalds, Sponge Bob, Hershey’s..). It is so obvious in fact, that I couldn’t help but wonder if there is anything more, well, less obvious lurking behind it. And there most certainly is!

In case you have not seen the extreme Moschino-ness of this collection, here is one of the first looks. Just to give you a taste:

Image

But once you look past the McDonald’s red and yellow, even the McDonald’s logo reconfigured into the classic Moschino M, it is easy to recognize something odd. Namely, this look is inspired by Chanel. Stripped of all garishness, the structure of this clothing is sophisticated, demure, and quite honestly, quintessentially Chanel.

For some reason, I find the sunglasses in this look chilling. They make the model seem as if she is looking at the world the way McDonalds wants her too, as if that brand’s influence had crept into her very core.

Here, again. The belts, quilting, and gold are also inspired by Coco.

Image

And now another theme behind the collection becomes apparent. By plastering the epitome of sophistication, Chanel, with brand names, logos, and colors, Franco is criticizing the destructive aspect of mass consumerism. And he plays with our prejudices. When I see the McDonalds logo, I do not think of quality. So when I see it on clothing, I immediately think of it the clothing as cheap and disposable, even though it is not. I constantly have to remind myself that this is Moschino, and that the looks are therefore of the highest quality. In this way, Franco is demonstrating, to each of us, how brand name recognition has subconsciously seeped into our minds and impacts our judgement.

I was struggling with the extreme belt-ness (new word) of this look. Then I realized that the model is symbolically chained, or bonded, by a specific brand.

Image

You guys deserve a break with the symbolism now I think. Only a truly daring individual could pull off one of these complete looks (like Katy Perry did). I, for one, would prefer not to walk through NYC dressed like an advertisement (and maybe McDonald’s would gift me a free meal). But, if the shoes, belts, and clothing are viewed separately they are superbly wearable and make great statement pieces!! So yes, even though the collection looks extreme, I predict it will be a great retail success.

The evening-wear was so fun! The dresses were inspired by candy wrappers and nutrition labels. Franco manages to critic society’s tendency to view women as candy in this very creative way.

Image

Basically, this collection left me with a huge grin on my face. And I can’t resist saying it – Franco left me hungry for more.

Excuse my jokes. 🙂

xoxo,

Chiara

p.s. Do you agree with my analysis? Or am I just seeing things that aren’t there?

16 thoughts on “I’ll Have a Diet Coke with that Moschino

  1. I loved this collection. I think you were spot on!! Branding is so huge and changes people’s perception. You show somebody a $5 tee from H&M and they’ll pass it by but show the same tee for $50 with a huge designer name and they’ll love it like it was the best tee ever made.

  2. What a great post! When I first saw the collection, I also thought the McDonalds part was making a statement about consumer culture, but I didn’t notice the Chanel references! Well spotted! I wonder if they picked on that brand for any particular reason? Very interesting.

    I agree, very fun collection- it’s always nice to see something different.

    1. Thank you!! Yes, I didn’t notice it at first too, but it’s not the first time it’s happened. I think moschino was sued quite a while ago by Chanel for “irreverence to their designs” or something like that.

    1. Thank you!! I’ll definitely check out that blog soon! 🙂 sometimes I take photos, but I’ll try to more in the future. Because fashion season took place recently I’ve mostly just been focusing on reviews but ill branch out 😀

Leave a Reply

